Lifeguard Courses

No items found.
We provide Royal Life Saving Society (RLSS) lifeguard awards which have international accreditation for their detailed and comprehensive approach to water safety procedures. We can also integrate the Level 3 First Aid at Work qualification into any of these lifeguard courses if required.

Learn More

National Vocational Beach Lifeguard Qualification (NVBLQ)

The NVBLQ is a national standard for beach lifeguarding. On completion of the course, candidates will have the skills and knowledge to protect the public at the beach. NVBLQ is also endorsed by the National Water Safety Forum and the Royal National Lifeboat Institution (RNLI).

National Pool Lifeguard Qualification (NPLQ)

The National Pool Lifeguard Qualification (NPLQ) is a well-recognised qualification that will provide you with a gateway into the leisure industry. The course will teach you the practical skills of lifeguarding, such as water rescue, casualty recovery, CPR and first aid. The NPLQ is the most awarded lifeguard qualification in the UK and Ireland and is also internationally recognised. More than 40,000 pool lifeguards qualify with the RLSS UK every year, and there are currently more than 90,000 pool lifeguards qualified in the NPLQ – 95% of all UK pool lifeguards.

You will do a minimum of 36 hours of learning, followed by a practical assessment on swimming pool theory, water safety and how to spot potential hazards. Skern Training and Skills provide a programme at one of our sites in Devon, but we can deliver across the UK.

The NPLQ and AED certificate is valid for 2 years from the date of successful completion of the course.

Open Water Lifeguard (OWL) Qualifications

Open water swimming is one of the fastest-growing sports in the UK. The OWL qualification has been specifically designed to equip open water lifeguards with the skills required to supervise and provide rescue cover for planned, organised and risk assessed activities in still or non-tidal water.

Searching Availability...